Your rights
COBRA insurance: how it works, how long it lasts and what it costs
Short answer
COBRA is a federal law that lets you and your family stay on an employer's group health plan after a job loss, cut in hours, divorce or death, if the employer had 20 or more employees. It lasts 18 months after a job loss, up to 36 months for family members, and costs up to 102% of the full premium.
Date calculator · 14 rules
Your COBRA deadlines and monthly cost
Federal COBRA from 29 U.S.C. and the Treasury and Labor rules; each state's continuation law from its statute or insurance department · checked Oct 21, 2026
Which law covers your plan?
Federal COBRA covers employers with 20 or more employees; the state laws cover smaller insured plans. Each rule comes from the official source linked in the result. It runs on your device: nothing you type is stored or sent. General information, not legal advice.
Key points
- Who gets it
- You, your spouse and your children, if you were on a plan of an employer with 20 or more employees and the coverage ends because of a qualifying event. Quitting counts; only gross misconduct is excluded.
- How long
- 18 months after a job loss or cut in hours, 29 months with a disability extension, and 36 months for a spouse or child after a divorce, death, Medicare entitlement or a child aging out.
- What it costs
- Up to 102% of the plan's full cost: your old share, your employer's share and 2% more. At 2024 average premiums that is $721.31 a month for single coverage and $2,085.90 for a family.
- The deadlines
- At least 60 days to elect, counted from the later of the day coverage ends or the day you get the notice; 45 days after electing to make the first payment; a 30-day grace period each month after that.
COBRA lets you keep the health plan you had at work, but at full price. When a job ends, hours are cut, or a family event takes you off a plan, a federal law called COBRA requires employers with 20 or more employees to offer the same group coverage for 18 to 36 months. You pay the whole premium, your old share and your employer's, plus up to 2% for administration.
Below: who qualifies, how long COBRA lasts, what it costs with 2024 average premiums, every deadline from the employer's notice to your first payment, the state continuation (mini-COBRA) laws in 13 states, and how to choose between COBRA and a Marketplace plan. The calculator at the top turns your dates into deadlines. If you just lost your job, see also unemployment benefits, your final paycheck and severance pay. This page explains the law; it is not legal advice.
What COBRA is and who can get it
COBRA (the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act) is a federal law that makes an employer's group health plan offer you the same coverage for a limited time after an event that would otherwise end it. It is not a new policy: you stay on the plan, with the same benefits as the employees who still work there, and if the plan changes for them it changes for you. What changes is who pays. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1161, 1162(1)
- Employers with 20 or more employees. Federal COBRA covers group health plans of private employers and state and local governments that had at least 20 employees on more than 50 percent of their typical business days in the previous calendar year. Part-time workers count as a fraction: if full time is 40 hours a week, a 20-hour worker counts as half an employee. Federal government plans and church plans are not under COBRA. Smaller employers are not covered by federal COBRA, but many states require continuation for insured plans: see state continuation laws.29 U.S.C. § 1161(b) · 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-2 · DOL: Employee's Guide · CDI
- The qualifying events. For the employee: losing the job for any reason other than gross misconduct, or a cut in hours that ends coverage. For a spouse and children: those two, plus the employee's death, a divorce or legal separation, or the employee becoming entitled to Medicare. For a child: also losing dependent status under the plan, usually at age 26. An event counts only if it actually ends someone's coverage.29 U.S.C. § 1163 · DOL: Employee's Guide
- Quitting counts. Apart from gross misconduct, the facts behind the job ending are irrelevant: it does not matter whether you quit or were fired. A strike, a lockout or a layoff that ends your coverage counts too. If you were pushed out, see wrongful termination.26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-4, Q&A-2
- Each family member decides separately. Your spouse and children who were on the plan the day before the event each have their own right to elect, even if you do not. One person's election covers the others unless it says otherwise, and a baby born or adopted during COBRA is added as a qualified beneficiary.29 U.S.C. §§ 1165(a)(2), 1167(3)
- FMLA leave is not a qualifying event. During FMLA leave your employer must keep your health coverage on the same terms. COBRA starts only when that duty ends, for example when you tell your employer you will not come back.DOL: Employee's Guide
How long COBRA lasts: 18, 29 or 36 months
The maximum depends on the event and on who is continuing coverage. It runs from the qualifying event, or from the day coverage is lost if the plan counts it that way. 29 U.S.C. § 1162(2)(A) · 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-7
| Qualifying event | Who can continue | Maximum COBRA coverage | Who tells the plan, and when |
|---|---|---|---|
| Job loss (not for gross misconduct) or a cut in hours | Employee, spouse, children | 18 months | The employer, within 30 days. § 1166(a)(2) |
| The same, with a disability extension | Everyone in the family on COBRA | 29 months | You send Social Security's decision within 60 days of it and before the 18 months end. § 1162(2)(A)(viii) |
| Divorce or legal separation | Spouse, children | 36 months | You, within 60 days. § 1166(a)(3) |
| Death of the employee | Spouse, children | 36 months | The employer, within 30 days. |
| Child no longer a dependent (for example at 26) | The child | 36 months | You, within 60 days. |
| Employee became entitled to Medicare | Spouse, children | 36 months | The employer, within 30 days. |
- The disability extension: 11 more months, 29 in all. If Social Security finds that anyone in the family was disabled at any time during the first 60 days of COBRA, everyone in the family gets 11 more months after a job loss or cut in hours. Send the decision to the plan within 60 days of it and before the 18 months run out. The plan can charge up to 150% of the cost for months 19 to 29. If Social Security later finds the person is no longer disabled, tell the plan within 30 days. If you are fighting a denial, see disability appeal.29 U.S.C. §§ 1162(2)(A)(viii), 1166(a)(3) · 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-8
- A second event: up to 36 months for the family. If a divorce, the employee's death, Medicare entitlement or a child's loss of dependent status happens during the 18 months, and it would have ended the spouse's or child's coverage anyway, they can get up to 36 months in total, counted from the first event. Tell the plan within 60 days.29 U.S.C. § 1162(2)(A)(ii) · DOL: Employee's Guide
- Medicare before the job ended. If the employee became entitled to Medicare less than 18 months before the job ended, the spouse and children can keep COBRA until 36 months after the Medicare date.29 U.S.C. § 1162(2)(A)(vii)
- COBRA can end early. When a premium is not paid on time, when the employer stops offering any group health plan, or when you become covered by another group plan or entitled to Medicare after you elect. Fraud can end it too.29 U.S.C. § 1162(2) · DOL: COBRA FAQs
How much COBRA costs: up to 102% of the full premium
As an employee you paid only your share and your employer paid the rest. On COBRA you pay both shares plus up to 2% for administration: 102% of the plan's full cost for similarly situated employees. HealthCare.gov puts it as paying 100% of the premiums, including the part your employer used to pay, plus a small administrative fee. The plan must let you pay monthly. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1162(3), 1164 · DOL: Employee's Guide
- Full monthly cost of the plan
- $700Your share plus your employer's. It is on your election notice.
- COBRA premium at 102%
- $714 a month$700 × 1.02
- Months 19 to 29 with the disability extension, at 150%
- $1,050 a month$700 × 1.5
- Total if the family keeps COBRA all 29 months
- $24,40218 × $714 = $12,852, plus 11 × $1,050 = $11,550
What COBRA costs at average prices. The federal Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality surveys private employers every year. In 2024 the average full premium was $8,486 for single coverage, $16,931 for employee-plus-one and $24,540 for a family; the average worker paid $1,789, $4,707 and $7,216 of it. On COBRA you pay the full premium plus 2%: AHRQ, MEPS Insurance Component, Research Findings #54 (December 2025)
| Coverage | Average full premium in 2024, a year | Per month | COBRA at 102%, a month | What the average worker paid, a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single | $8,486 | $707.17 | $721.31 | $149.08 |
| Employee plus one | $16,931 | $1,410.92 | $1,439.14 | $392.25 |
| Family | $24,540 | $2,045.00 | $2,085.90 | $601.33 |
For single coverage, COBRA at the average price is about 4.8 times what the average worker paid. Your own figure is on your election notice; plans may raise the COBRA premium if their cost rises, but must generally fix it before each 12-month premium cycle. 29 U.S.C. § 1164(3) · DOL: Employee's Guide
- Your employer may pay some or all of it. Employers do not have to pay any of the COBRA premium, but some pay part or all of it as part of a severance package. Get it in writing: how many months, and what happens if you find a new job. See severance pay.DOL: COBRA FAQs · DOL: Employee's Guide
- A small shortfall is not a missed payment. If you pay on time but the amount is short by no more than $50 or 10% of the amount due, whichever is less, the plan must tell you and give you a reasonable time to pay the difference; 30 days counts as reasonable.26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-8, Q&A-5
- The old tax credit is gone. The Health Coverage Tax Credit expired on December 31, 2022. A Marketplace plan can come with savings based on your household income; COBRA does not.DOL: Employee's Guide · HealthCare.gov
COBRA deadlines: the notices, 60 days to elect, 45 days to pay
COBRA runs on a chain of dates. Miss the election or the first payment and the right is gone. The calculator at the top counts each date from yours.
- Within 30 days of the event
The employer tells the plan administrator about a job loss, cut in hours, death or Medicare entitlement. 29 U.S.C. § 1166(a)(2) · 29 C.F.R. § 2590.606-2
- Within 60 days, for a divorce or a child aging out
You must tell the plan yourself, in the way its summary plan description sets out. If you are filing for divorce, put this date in your calendar. 29 U.S.C. § 1166(a)(3)
- Within 14 days after the administrator is told
The administrator sends you the election notice. When the employer is also the administrator, it has 44 days from the event (or from the loss of coverage, if the plan counts from that). 29 U.S.C. § 1166(c) · 29 C.F.R. § 2590.606-4(b)
- At least 60 days to elect
Counted from the later of the day coverage ends or the day the election notice is provided. 29 U.S.C. § 1165(a)(1) · 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-6
- 45 days after electing: the first premium
The plan cannot ask for payment with the election. Because coverage goes back to the day it ended, the first payment can cover two months or more. 29 U.S.C. § 1162(3) · NJ DOBI
- Every month after: a 30-day grace period
Each later payment is on time if made within 30 days after its due date, or a longer period the plan allows. 29 U.S.C. § 1162(2)(C)
Worked example: federal COBRA after a layoff. The dates below follow the same rules the calculator at the top uses.
- Coverage ends
- October 31, 2026
- Election notice arrives
- November 14, 2026
- Marketplace special enrollment closes
- December 30, 202660 days after the coverage ends: two weeks before the COBRA deadline
- Last day to elect COBRA
- January 13, 202760 days after the notice, the later date
- First premium due, if you elect that day
- February 27, 202745 days after the election; at $714 a month it covers the months since coverage ended
- COBRA ends at the latest
- 18 months after October 31, 2026around the end of April 2028; 29 months, around the end of March 2029, with a disability extension
State continuation laws (mini-COBRA) for smaller employers, state by state
If your employer had fewer than 20 employees, federal COBRA does not apply, but many states require insured group plans to offer continuation coverage. A few states also add months after federal COBRA runs out. A self-funded plan follows federal law only. Each row below was read on October 21, 2026 from the state's statute or insurance department; the calculator at the top uses the same figures.
| Law | Who it covers | How long | Election deadline | Premium cap | Citation | In force since |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal COBRA | Employers with 20 or more employees | 18 months; 29 months with a disability extension; 36 months for family after other events | 60 days from the later of loss of coverage or the notice; first premium 45 days after electing | 102%; 150% in months 19 to 29 | 29 U.S.C. §§ 1161–1168 | Plan years beginning on or after July 1, 1986 |
| California (Cal-COBRA) | Insured plans of employers with 2 to 19 employees; also extends federal COBRA to 36 months in all | 36 months | Usually 60 days after you are notified (CDI) | 110% (Senate floor analysis of SB 838, 2010) | Cal. Ins. Code § 10128.59 | January 1, 2003 (36 months) |
| Connecticut | All fully insured Connecticut group plans, any employer size | 30 months after a job loss, cut in hours or leave; the federal 36 months after other events | 60 days after the notice; first premium 45 days after electing (CID model notice) | 102% | Conn. Gen. Stat. § 38a-512a | May 5, 2010 (30 months) |
| Florida | Insured plans of employers with fewer than 20 employees | 18 months; 29 months with a disability extension | You tell the carrier within 63 days; then elect and pay within 30 days after the carrier's notice | 115%; 150% in the disability months | Fla. Stat. § 627.6692(5) | Florida Statutes 2026 |
| Iowa | Insured group plans; 3 months of coverage before | 9 months (job loss, divorce or death) | 10 days after the later of the termination or the notice; never more than 31 days after the termination | 100% (the group rate) | Iowa Code § 509B.3 | Iowa Code 2026 |
| Kansas | Insured plans not subject to federal COBRA; 3 months of coverage before | 18 months (coverage ended for any reason except for cause) | Not stated in the statute: see your notice | 100% (the group rate) | K.S.A. 40-2209(i) | Current statute |
| Maryland | Group contracts issued in Maryland; residents covered 3 months | 18 months after a job loss or the employee's death; after a divorce, until other coverage or Medicare | At least 45 days from the job loss or death | 100%, plus a reasonable fee the Commissioner approves | Md. Code, Ins. §§ 15-407, 15-408, 15-409 | Current statute |
| Minnesota | Insured plans covering Minnesota workers, any employer size | 18 months after a job loss; 36 months after Medicare entitlement or a child aging out; a former or surviving spouse until other group coverage | 60 days from the later of loss of coverage or the notice (job loss) | 102% | Minn. Stat. §§ 62A.17, 62A.146, 62A.20, 62A.21 | 2025 Minnesota Statutes |
| Missouri | Insured plans not subject to federal COBRA | Same as federal COBRA | Same as federal COBRA | Same as federal COBRA | Mo. Rev. Stat. § 376.428 | June 26, 2009 |
| New Jersey | Insured small-employer plans, employers with 1 to 50 employees | 18 months; 29 months with a disability extension; up to 36 months for a dependent | Not stated in DOBI's guidance: see your notice. Later premiums have a 31-day grace period | 102% | N.J.S.A. 17B:27A-27 | Current DOBI guidance |
| New York | Insured group plans; DFS: employers with fewer than 20 employees. Also extends federal COBRA to 36 months in all | 36 months | 60 days from the later of the termination or the notice, in writing | 102% | N.Y. Ins. Law § 3221(m) | Current statute |
| Pennsylvania | Insured plans of employers with 2 to 19 employees | 9 months | 30 days after the notice | 105% | Pennsylvania Mini-COBRA law (PID) | Current PID guidance |
| Texas | Insured plans; people not eligible for COBRA, not fired for cause, covered 3 months before | 9 months; 3 years (36 months) for a spouse or child after a divorce, retirement or death; 6 more months after federal COBRA | 60 days from the later of loss of coverage or the notice; first premium 45 days after electing | 102% (the contribution plus 2% of the group rate) | Tex. Ins. Code §§ 1251.252–1251.255, 1251.310 | April 1, 2005; amended June 19, 2009 |
| Virginia | Insured plans of employers not subject to COBRA; covered 3 months before | 12 months | 31 days after the notice, never more than 60 days after eligibility ends | 102% (the group rate plus up to 2%) | Va. Code § 38.2-3541(B) | Last amended 2018 |
- California: Cal-COBRA, and 36 months after federal COBRA. Cal-COBRA covers insured plans of employers with 2 to 19 employees, for a full 36 months for anyone who became eligible after January 1, 2003. If you had federal COBRA from a larger employer, California Insurance Code section 10128.59 extends it under Cal-COBRA after your 18 months, to a total of no more than 36 months, when the group policy was issued in California. The Legislature's 2010 analysis puts the Cal-COBRA cap at 110% of the full premium.CDI: Frequently asked questions · CDI: Continuation coverage · Senate floor analysis of SB 838
- New York: 36 months, and an extension after federal COBRA. The Department of Financial Services says small employers (fewer than 20 employees) must provide the equivalent of COBRA, for 36 months, at up to 102% of the group rate; you request it in writing within 60 days following the later of the termination or the notice. Insurance Law section 3221(m) also requires insured group policies to let a person who used up federal COBRA continue for up to 36 months from the day continuation began.NY DFS: COBRA FAQ · N.Y. Ins. Law § 3221(m)
- Texas: 9 months, 6 more after COBRA, 3 years for a family member. If you are not eligible for COBRA, Texas state continuation lasts 9 months; if you had COBRA, it adds 6 months after COBRA ends, for 24 months in all for the employee and 42 months for a spouse or child. You must have been covered for the 3 months before, and you usually can't get it if you were fired for cause. You ask in writing within 60 days from the later of the day coverage ends or the notice (§ 1251.253), and pay within 45 days after electing, with 30 days for each later payment (§ 1251.254). Separately, a spouse or child who loses coverage through a divorce, or the member's retirement or death, can continue until the third anniversary of that event; they must say so in writing within 60 days. The statute counts the 9 months from the day you elect.TDI: Health care coverage guide · Tex. Ins. Code §§ 1251.252–1251.255, 1251.308, 1251.310
- Florida: you notify the insurer first. For employers with fewer than 20 employees, you (not the employer) must give the insurance carrier written notice within 63 days after the qualifying event. The carrier then has 14 days to send the election and premium form by certified mail, and you have 30 days after receiving it to elect and pay the first premium. Coverage lasts 18 months, or 29 months if Social Security finds you were disabled at the time of the event. The premium may be up to 115%, and up to 150% during the 11-month disability extension. Later premiums have a 30-day grace period.Fla. Stat. § 627.6692(5)
- Connecticut: 30 months for every employer size. Since May 5, 2010, every fully insured Connecticut group plan, large or small, must offer 30 months after a layoff, cut in hours, leave of absence or termination of employment. The 30 months already exceed the 29-month disability extension, so there is no extra time and no 150% premium for disability. A second event can bring the spouse and children to 36 months in total.Conn. Gen. Stat. § 38a-512a · CID: Continuation expanded to 30 months
- Pennsylvania: 9 months, 30 days to decide. Pennsylvania's Mini-COBRA covers employers with 2 to 19 employees for 9 months, with no extensions, at up to 105% of the group rate (up to 100% of the premium plus 5% for administration). You have 30 days to elect, and you must have been covered for the 3 months before.PID: COBRA and Mini-COBRA · PID model election notice
COBRA or a Marketplace plan: how to choose
You don't have to take COBRA. HealthCare.gov says to compare the cost of COBRA with Marketplace plans before you decide. Losing job-based coverage opens a special enrollment period: you can pick a Marketplace plan in the 60 days before and the 60 days after the coverage ends. Medicaid and CHIP have no window; you can apply any time. Savings on a Marketplace plan depend on your household size and income for the year, not on whether you have a job, and being offered COBRA does not make you ineligible. HealthCare.gov · 45 C.F.R. § 155.420(c) · DOL: Employee's Guide
| COBRA | Marketplace plan | |
|---|---|---|
| Doctors and network | The same plan and network you had | A new plan: check that your doctors are in it |
| Deductible already met this year | Keeps counting | Starts over |
| Monthly price | Up to 102% of the full premium | The plan's price, less any savings based on your income |
| Window to sign up | At least 60 days to elect | 60 days before or after the coverage ends |
| Changing your mind | Dropping COBRA on your own means waiting for Open Enrollment | COBRA can no longer be elected once its 60 days pass |
| If… | What to do | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| You need care now, before a Marketplace plan could start | Electing COBRA covers the gap: the Department of Labor notes you then have coverage until the Marketplace plan begins. While you are still within 60 days of losing the job-based coverage, you can switch to a Marketplace plan. | DOL: Employee's Guide · HealthCare.gov |
| Your employer pays your COBRA premium for a few months | When the employer stops contributing and you must pay the full cost, HealthCare.gov lets you switch to a Marketplace plan outside Open Enrollment. | See severance pay. |
| Your COBRA months run out | You have 60 days to enroll in a Marketplace plan through a special enrollment period. | HealthCare.gov |
| You are 65 or close to Medicare | Look at Medicare first. If you lose your job after your Medicare initial enrollment period and did not enroll in Part A or B, you generally have an eight-month special enrollment period; taking COBRA instead can mean a late enrollment penalty and a gap if you want Part B later. | DOL: Employee's Guide |
Quick guide
COBRA or a Marketplace plan?
1. What matters most to you right now?
Will your household income this year be lower than usual?
It points to the part of this page that fits, in the page's own words. Nothing you choose is saved or sent. Not legal advice.
What to do next
- Write down the dates. The day coverage ends, the day the election notice arrived and the date of the event. Put the election deadline and the Marketplace deadline in your calendar; the calculator at the top makes a calendar file. File for unemployment benefits the same week, and if the claim is denied, see unemployment appeal.
- Ask HR or the plan administrator for the numbers in writing. The full monthly premium for each option, the monthly due date, whether federal COBRA or a state law applies, and how long your coverage can last. If you were laid off, ask about your final paycheck and any severance at the same time.
- Compare before the earlier deadline. Get Marketplace prices at HealthCare.gov (1-800-318-2596) before its 60-day window closes, which can come before your COBRA deadline.
- Elect in writing and keep proof. Use the election form, send it in a way that gives you a dated receipt, and keep a copy. Each family member can elect.
- Pay the first premium within 45 days, then every month. Put each due date and its 30-day grace period in your calendar. A payment after the grace period can end COBRA for good.
- No notice? Ask, then call the Department of Labor. If 44 days pass after a job loss with no election notice, ask HR in writing who the administrator is and when it was told. For private-sector plans, the Employee Benefits Security Administration answers at 1-866-444-3272. For a state continuation law, contact your state insurance department. If the plan still refuses, a lawyer or legal aid can help.
“We sent everything to the COBRA administrator. You'll hear from them.”
You can say: “Thank you. On what date did you tell the administrator, and what is its name and phone number? The election notice is due within 14 days after that.”
“Your coverage just ends at the end of the month.”
You can say: “Please confirm in writing the exact last day of coverage, and whether the plan is under federal COBRA or our state's law.”
“COBRA costs what it costs.”
You can say: “Please send me the full monthly premium for each option, so I can compare it with a Marketplace plan.”
“You quit, so COBRA doesn't apply.”
Under the federal rules, you can say: “COBRA applies whether I quit or was let go, unless it was gross misconduct. Please send me the election notice.”
“We'll keep paying your premium for a few months.”
You can say: “Thank you. Please put it in my severance agreement: which months, and what happens if I start a new job.”
Getting help
The Department of Labor's Employee Benefits Security Administration answers COBRA questions about private-sector plans at 1-866-444-3272, and HealthCare.gov's line is 1-800-318-2596. State continuation laws are enforced by the state insurance department. More programs are on the Government benefits hub.
Common questions
How long does COBRA last?
18 months after a job loss or cut in hours, 29 months if Social Security finds someone in the family disabled within the first 60 days, and 36 months for a spouse or child after a divorce, the employee's death, Medicare entitlement or a child aging out. State laws for smaller employers mostly run from 9 to 36 months. See how long COBRA lasts.
How much will COBRA cost per month?
Up to 102% of the plan's full cost: your share, your employer's share and 2% more. At the 2024 averages that is $721.31 a month for single coverage, $1,439.14 for employee-plus-one and $2,085.90 for a family. Your real figure is on your election notice. See what COBRA costs.
Am I covered by COBRA if I quit?
Yes. Apart from gross misconduct, it does not matter whether you quit or were fired; a layoff, a strike or a lockout that ends your coverage counts too (26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-4).
Can an employer pay COBRA premiums for an employee?
Yes, but it doesn't have to. Some employers pay part or all of the COBRA premium as part of a severance package. Ask for the months and the end date in writing, and see severance pay.
How does a COBRA policy work?
It is not a new policy: you stay on your employer's plan with the same benefits, and pay the premium yourself. You have at least 60 days to elect and 45 days after that to pay; if you do, coverage goes back to the day it ended.
How good is COBRA coverage?
It is the same coverage the employees who still work there get, with the same doctors, and the deductible you have already met keeps counting. If the plan changes for them, it changes for you.
What is COBRA administration?
The plan administrator, or a COBRA administrator it hires, sends the notices and collects the premiums. The employer must tell it about a job loss within 30 days, and it must send you the election notice within 14 days after that (44 days in all when the employer runs the plan itself).
Is COBRA cheaper than a Marketplace plan?
It depends on your income and the plans where you live. Marketplace savings are based on household income for the year, so after a job loss a Marketplace plan can cost less. Compare both before the Marketplace's 60-day window closes. See COBRA or a Marketplace plan.
What happens if I miss a COBRA payment?
Each monthly payment has a grace period of at least 30 days. If you don't pay within it, the plan can end COBRA, and stopping payment on your own does not open a Marketplace special enrollment period. The first payment is due 45 days after you elect.
Does COBRA cover my spouse and children after a divorce or a death?
Yes, for up to 36 months. After a divorce or legal separation, you or your former spouse must tell the plan within 60 days; after a death, the employer tells it within 30 days. See also filing for divorce.
Official sources
- 29 U.S.C. § 1161 (2024 edition): plans must offer continuation coverage; § 1161(b) exception when employers normally employed fewer than 20 employees govinfo.gov
- 29 U.S.C. § 1162: identical coverage; 18, 29 and 36 months (§ 1162(2)(A)); 30-day grace (§ 1162(2)(C)); 102 percent, 150 percent and 45 days (§ 1162(3)) govinfo.gov
- 29 U.S.C. § 1163: qualifying events (death, termination other than for gross misconduct or reduction of hours, divorce or legal separation, Medicare entitlement, dependent child status) govinfo.gov
- 29 U.S.C. § 1164: applicable premium, whether paid by the employer or the employee; set for a period of 12 months govinfo.gov
- 29 U.S.C. § 1165: election period of at least 60 days from the later of loss of coverage or the notice; one election covers the family govinfo.gov
- 29 U.S.C. § 1166: employer notifies the administrator within 30 days; you notify within 60 days for divorce or a child; administrator notifies within 14 days govinfo.gov
- 29 U.S.C. § 1167: qualified beneficiaries, including a child born or adopted during continuation coverage govinfo.gov
- 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-2, Q&A-5: small-employer plan (fewer than 20 employees on at least 50 percent of typical business days); part-time employees counted as a fraction govinfo.gov
- 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-4, Q&A-2: voluntary or involuntary termination does not matter, apart from gross misconduct govinfo.gov
- 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-6: election period (60 days), coverage during the election period (Q&A-3), revoking a waiver (Q&A-4) govinfo.gov
- 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-7: maximum coverage periods (18, 29 and 36 months), disability extension, second qualifying event govinfo.gov
- 26 C.F.R. § 54.4980B-8: 102 percent and 150 percent; timely payment within 30 days; first payment no earlier than 45 days after the election; shortfall of $50 or 10 percent govinfo.gov
- 29 C.F.R. § 2590.606-2: employer's notice of a qualifying event to the administrator within 30 days govinfo.gov
- 29 C.F.R. § 2590.606-4(b): election notice within 14 days, or 44 days when the employer is also the administrator govinfo.gov
- 45 C.F.R. § 155.420(c): Marketplace special enrollment, 60 days from the triggering event, and 60 days before a loss of coverage govinfo.gov
- U.S. Department of Labor, EBSA: An Employee's Guide to Health Benefits Under COBRA (September 2022) dol.gov
- U.S. Department of Labor, EBSA: FAQs on COBRA continuation health coverage for workers (employer may pay part or all as part of a severance package; early termination; Medicare) dol.gov
- HealthCare.gov: COBRA coverage when you're unemployed (compare with the Marketplace; 60 days; switching from COBRA; Open Enrollment November 1 to January 15) healthcare.gov
- HealthCare.gov: Special Enrollment Period (lost coverage in the past 60 days or expecting to lose it in the next 60 days; COBRA ending) healthcare.gov
- HealthCare.gov: Health coverage options if you're unemployed (100% of the premiums plus a small administrative fee; savings based on household income) healthcare.gov
- AHRQ, MEPS Insurance Component, Research Findings #54 (December 2025): 2024 average premiums $8,486 single, $16,931 employee-plus-one, $24,540 family; employee contributions $1,789, $4,707, $7,216 meps.ahrq.gov
- California Department of Insurance: Frequently asked questions (Cal-COBRA: 2-19 employees, 36 months since January 1, 2003; Insurance Code section 10128.59 extension to 36 months) insurance.ca.gov
- California Department of Insurance: Continuation coverage (usually 60 days after your employer notifies you; Cal-COBRA after COBRA) insurance.ca.gov
- California Senate floor analysis of SB 838, May 26, 2010 (Cal-COBRA for firms of two to 19 employees, capped at 110 percent; up to 36 months) leginfo.ca.gov
- New York Department of Financial Services: COBRA FAQ (small employers under 20 employees; 36 months; up to 102%; 60 days to request in writing) dfs.ny.gov
- N.Y. Insurance Law § 3221(m): continuation for thirty-six months at no more than one hundred two percent; offer to people who exhausted federal continuation nysenate.gov
- Texas Department of Insurance: Health care coverage guide (state continuation 9 months, or 6 months after COBRA; totals 24 and 42 months) tdi.texas.gov
- Texas Insurance Code chapter 1251 (§§ 1251.252-1251.255 continuation: 60th day, 45th day, 30th day, two percent, nine and six months; §§ 1251.308, 1251.310 family members: 60th day, third anniversary) tcss.legis.texas.gov
- Florida Statutes § 627.6692 (2026), Florida Health Insurance Coverage Continuation Act (fewer than 20 employees; 18 or 29 months; 63, 14 and 30 days; 115 percent; 150 percent) flsenate.gov
- Connecticut General Statutes § 38a-512a (2025): thirty months after layoff, reduction of hours, leave or termination; one hundred two per cent cga.ct.gov
- Connecticut Insurance Department: Continuation of group health coverage expanded to 30 months (Public Act 10-13, May 5, 2010; all fully insured plans; 102%) portal.ct.gov
- Connecticut Insurance Department: model Connecticut Continuation Coverage Election Notice (60 days to elect, first payment 45 days after electing, 30-day grace period) portal.ct.gov
- New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance: COBRA and New Jersey Small Group Continuation (18, 29 and 36 months; 102%) nj.gov
- New Jersey Small Employer Health Benefits Program Buyer's Guide (employers with one to 50 employees; 31-day grace period; initial payment of two months) nj.gov
- Pennsylvania Insurance Department: COBRA and Mini-COBRA (2-19 employees; nine months; 30 days to elect; up to 5% administrative fee) pa.gov
- Pennsylvania Insurance Department: model Mini-COBRA continuation coverage election notice (thirty (30) days; nine (9) months; 105% of the group rate) pa.gov
- Minnesota Statutes § 62A.17 (2025): 18 months, 102 percent, notice within 14 days, 60 days to elect revisor.mn.gov
- Minnesota Statutes § 62A.20: spouse and children after Medicare enrollment, child no longer dependent; 36 months; 102 percent revisor.mn.gov
- Minnesota Statutes § 62A.21: former spouse and children after a dissolution of marriage, until other group coverage; 102 percent revisor.mn.gov
- Minnesota Statutes § 62A.146: survivors, until the surviving spouse is covered under another group plan; 102 percent revisor.mn.gov
- Code of Virginia § 38.2-3541: 12 months; 31 days after the notice, not beyond 60 days; two percent fee; notice within 14 days law.lis.virginia.gov
- Maryland Insurance Article § 15-409: 18 months after a change in status; election period at least 45 days; employer and employee contributions plus a reasonable fee mgaleg.maryland.gov
- Maryland Insurance Article § 15-407: survivors, 18 months after the death; election period at least 45 days mgaleg.maryland.gov
- Maryland Insurance Article § 15-408: former spouse and children after a divorce, until other coverage or Medicare mgaleg.maryland.gov
- Missouri Revised Statutes § 376.428 (effective June 26, 2009): continuation in the same manner as federal COBRA revisor.mo.gov
- Kansas Statutes 40-2209(i): continuation for a period of 18 months; premium the same as for employees in the group ksrevisor.gov
- Iowa Code 2026, chapter 509B (§ 509B.3: ten-day request, thirty-one days, nine months, the group rate; § 509B.5: notice within ten days) legis.iowa.gov
Related
This page explains the law in general terms. It is not legal advice about your situation. Justice is not a law firm and is not affiliated with any court or government agency.